Skip to main content

Old control tower demolition

09 January, 2013

Categories:
Construction

As part of Heathrow’s transformation and to make way for roads which will serve the new Terminal 2, one of the last iconic remnants of ‘old’ Heathrow, the Old Control Tower, is being demolished this week.

With its distinctive red brick construction, glazed Air Traffic Control Room and white radar dome, the distinctive nine-floor silhouette of the Old Control Tower has gazed out over an ever-evolving airport since 1955.

It was constructed in the same era as the now-demolished Queens Building and Europa Building (the former T2) and replaced the RAF Control Tower, shortly after the first modern runway and terminal building were opened by The Queen.

Up to that point, the early passenger terminals were ex-military marquees which formed a tented village along Bath Road. The Old Control Tower was designed by architect Sir Frederick Gibberd, who was also responsible for the Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral and Didcot Power Station. It closed last year after almost 60 years' service.

Whilst Air Traffic Control transferred to the new control tower in 2007, the building continued to be a home to offices until its final closure. Once the last brick is cleared, the only 1950’s red brick remaining - and the last of the original Central Terminal Area buildings - will be the Boiler House.

The Old Control Tower has witnessed Heathrow’s transformation from humble beginnings to what we are now. The arrival of the new Terminal 2 is just the latest phase of our ongoing transformation.

Contact information

Heathrow Airport media centre
Name
Heathrow Airport media centre
Job Title
Division
Heathrow Airport
Telephone
+44 (0)20 8745 7224
Fax
Mobile
Email
media_centre@heathrow.com

Media Centre provided by NASDAQ OMX